Delectables: Mexican Corn Dip

This past week has been ridiculously busy! Between friends visiting, my parents visiting and the holiday, I haven’t had time to do much on my computer (other than start watching // become addicted to New Girl, per recommendation of a friend).

Anyways, I wanted to share some delicious recipes that I made for our 4th of July cookout. For some reason, everyone brought a bunch of Mexican themed dishes (we had hot dogs too!), but I’m not complaining. I LOVE Mexican, so naturally, both dishes I made have a Mexican twist.

I can’t take credit for these, I found the recipes online, but I will say that I’ve gotten pretty good at cooking in the past year. I used to hate it, and never really ventured outside the toaster oven–I was missing out.

Esquites (Mexican Corn Salad) via The Kitchn. (Photo edits via "A Beautiful Mess")

Esquites (Mexican Corn Salad) via The Kitchn. (Photo edits via “A Beautiful Mess“)

First up is Esquites (Mexican Corn Salad) from The Kitchn. This recipe is “advertised” as a salad, but we thought it worked WAY better as a dip. It was gone within the first hour of the party, so next time I am definitely making a double batch. But really, this dip was FANTASTIC. I couldn’t believe it.

However, I did slightly modify the recipe. The recipe calls for one hot pepper (I used a jalapeno) and chile powder, but I think I used a bit more than the recipe called for to make it a little spicier. Especially because the coloring of my dip is a bit darker than the original.

I could have eaten the entire bowl myself.

I also made these Southwest Turkey Meatballs from Skinnytaste and paired it with this Chipotle Ranch Dip from All Recipes. This was the second time I had made this dish and it was also a hit. These are perfect little appetizers and are really quick and easy to make! I got really nerdy and decorated some toothpicks for the holiday with little red pom-poms (ideas and tutorial via A Beautiful Mess). Unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures of this. I’m a new blogger and not used to taking photos of everything yet.

Please share your favorite Mexican recipes with me!

